The Linbury Prize

This biennial Prize, the most important of its kind in the UK, brings together the best of emerging designers with professional theatre, dance and opera companies.

The four winners of each competition receive a cash prize together with a professional commission to design a production for a major company. Companies that have collaborated with the Prize in recent years include Birmingham Opera, Headlong, National Theatre of Scotland, Lyric Hammersmith and Scottish Dance Theatre.

The Linbury Prize for Stage Design is funded entirely by the Linbury Trust, a charitable trust
founded in 1973 by Lord Sainsbury of Preston Candover KG (John Sainsbury), and his wife Anya, Lady Sainsbury, CBE, the former ballerina Anya Linden. The name 'Linbury' is thus derived from the names Linden and Sainsbury.

For more information about The Linbury Trust please visit the website at

The Prize is supported by a group of Advocates, all eminent figures in the theatre world who endorse the Linbury Prize’s aims.

Mark Baldwin, Simon Russell Beale CBE, Sue Blane MBE, Edward Bond, Matthew Bourne OBE, Christopher Bruce CBE, Alison Chitty OBE, Bob Crowley, Stephen Daldry CBE, Siobhan Davies CBE, Sir Anthony Dowell CBE, Sir Richard Eyre CBE, Rupert Goold, Sir David Hare, Tim Hatley, Prof Pamela Howard, David Hockney CH RA OM, Stuart Hopps, Richard Hudson, Nicholas Hytner, Richard Jones, Ralph Koltai CBE RDI, David Lan, John Macfarlane, Geoffrey Marsh, Jonathan Mills, John Napier, Sir Trevor Nunn CBE, Timothy O'Brien, Alistair Spalding CBE, Sir John Tusa, Anthony Ward, Nicholas Wright

Contact Us

General Enquiries
For all general enquiries please
020 7452 3054

For press enquiries please
contact Louisa Terry
020 7452 3236


The Linbury Prize is administered by the National Theatre. The NT has, since 1989, been the host of the exhibition of Linbury Prize finalists' designs and of the judging panels. For more information on the National Theatre please visit